Some of my easiest projects are now on video

With the help of two really cool companies, I’ve been producing videos of some of my coolest new projects. As always, the main idea is totally do-able projects that are totally worth doing, like the stuff in my 2017 book, “Build Stuff with Wood.” Links to the videos are below, and I’ll provide more as time goes along.

One company is Woodpeckers, a manufacturer of top-class woodworking tools right here in the U-S-of-A (Ohio actually). I’ll be sharing all sorts of techniques and projects on their YouTube channel. So subscribe to see all my future videos. This time around, they asked me to design a project around their new M2 box clamps, clever little gizmos that keep parts at perfect right angles while you screw or clamp the joints together.

Screen Shot 2018-04-25 at 8.47.32 AM

Screen Shot 2018-04-27 at 11.58.57 AMScreen Shot 2018-04-27 at 11.22.55 AM

I designed two cool mitered boxes in the Mid-Century style, and attached hairpin legs to turn then into little side tables or nightstands, with an opening in the middle for books and storage. Here’s the video that shows how the box clamps help.

The other company is Digital Trends, a hip reviewer of all things tech, based right here in Portland. They’ve hired me to design and build a bunch of stuff, like the pallet-wood beer caddy I blogged about here, and super-cool frames for your nicest vinyl records. Those frames were inspired by something very similar by Jonathan Odom of Instructables.com. He is a fountain of amazing ideas. I especially love how the album covers can slip in and out without removing the frame from the wall. Beautiful as they are, those record are meant to be played!

The caddy video is here, and the record-frame video is here.

Screen Shot 2018-04-27 at 11.28.52 AM

In all cases, with Woodpeckers and Digital Trends, I provide the designs and do the building, and they produce the video, which is nice for both me and you! Hope you like them!

Screen Shot 2018-04-27 at 11.40.22 AM

Screen Shot 2018-04-27 at 11.42.31 AMScreen Shot 2018-04-27 at 11.43.46 AMScreen Shot 2018-04-27 at 11.44.34 AMScreen Shot 2018-04-27 at 11.45.01 AM

 

Leave a comment